Back to Articles

Decades presents the Smart Com sitcom block every weeknight beginning October 5

Starting October 5th, Decades is bringing you a whole new block of late-night laughs. These comedies were far ahead of their time — and are bound to keep you up for hours with Smart Com!

Every weeknight beginning at 10p ET | 7p PT, catch your new favorite block of comedy all starting with The Dick Van Dyke Show! Afterward, you can stop on by the place where everybody knows your name with comedy classic Cheers and catch a ride with Danny DeVito and Andy Kaufman on Taxi.

Take a closer look at what you can expect from the new lineup of gut-busting laughs.

Download the new schedule here.

1

The Dick Van Dyke Show - 10p ET | 7p PT

Considered by fans and critics alike to be one of the best sitcoms in television history, The Dick Van Dyke  Show earned 25 Primetime Emmy nominations and won 15 Primetime Emmy Awards over its five seasons. Over 158 half-hour episodes, the series followed the work and home life of Rob Petrie (Dick Van Dyke), head writer for the fictional comedy/variety series The Alan Brady Show, starring Alan Brady (Carl Reiner), with plots inspired by Carl Reiner’s real-life experiences as a writer for a live variety show. Mary Tyler Moore portrayed Rob’s wife, Laura Petrie, and earned two Primetime Emmy Awards for her performance.

2

Cheers - 11p ET | 8p PT

Cheers—where everybody knows your name! Set in a Boston tavern where beer and laughs flow freely, 'Cheers' was honored with dozens of Emmy and Golden Globe awards during its 11-season run. The ensemble cast includes Sam Malone (Ted Danson), the bar's owner and retired Red Sox pitcher, loyal patrons Norm Peterson (George Wendt), Cliff Clavin (John Ratzenberger) and a young Dr. Fraiser Crane (Kelsey Grammer), the always proper Diane (Shelly Long), Coach (Nicholas Colasanto), sassy waitress Carla (Rhea Perlman), Rebecca (Kristie Alley) and the simple but sweet Woody (Woody Harrelson).

3

Taxi - 12a ET | 9p PT

'Taxi' follows the aspirations and setbacks of the employees at Sunshine Cab Company. Most Sunshine Cab drivers view the gig as temporary, something they will leave behind as soon as they find success in their true callings. A character will often make inroads at getting out of the cab business, only to have their hopes dashed as they find themselves back at the garage, under the thumb of Louie De Palma (Danny DeVito), the unsympathetic head dispatcher.

4

The Bob Newhart Show - 12:30a ET | 9:30p PT

As Robert Hartley, Ph.D., Bob Newhart stars as a psychologist who could use a little professional help himself! In playing straight man to a host of eccentric characters, Newhart's Dr. Hartley manages his neurotic patients while coping with the day-to-day drama of dealing with colleagues, family and friends.

5

The Lost Honeymooners - 1a ET | 10p PT

'The Honeymooners' features Jackie Gleason as Brooklyn bus driver Ralph Kramden, his wife, Alice (Audrey Meadows), and their neighbors, Ed and Trixie Norton (Art Carney and Joyce Randolph). Frustrated by his working-class status, Ralph often develops get-rich-quick schemes that are, of course, bound to go awry. Though very short tempered and frequently resorting to insults and hollow threats, Ralph is a soft-hearted man who loves his wife and is devoted to his best pal, Ed.

6

Get Smart - 1:30a ET | 10:30p PT

A parody of the Cold War secret agent genre, 'Get Smart' centers on the bungling Maxwell Smart (Don Adams) and his partner, the skilled and experienced Agent 99 (Barbara Feldon), as they protect the world against a variety of threats. Smart's incompetence invariably poses challenges for his colleagues at CONTROL, a secret U.S. Government counter-intelligence agency. However, Smart and Agent 99 always save the day, usually thanks to his dumb luck and her cunning.

7

The Phil Silvers Show - 2a ET | 11p PT

Sgt. Ernie Bilko (Phil Silvers) calls the shots at Fort Baxter, an unremarkable U.S. Army base in Roseville, Kansas. However, Bilko and his men seem to spend very little time actually performing their duties, with Bilko usually engrossed in the masterminding of some scheme or swindle. The inept though vigilant Col. Hall (Paul Ford) is always on the lookout for the next Bilko-born conspiracy, never failing to get the best of the sergeant in the end.

8

Car 54, Where Are You? - 2:30a ET | 11:30p PT

Taking place in the fictional 53rd Precinct in the Bronx, 'Car 54, Where Are You?' follows the comic misadventures of NYPD officers Gunther Toody (Joe E. Ross) and Francis Muldoon (Fred Gwynne). Assigned to patrol car 54, Toody and Muldoon's personalities couldn't be more poorly matched, with loudmouth Toody serving as a foil to the gentle and quiet Muldoon.

9

The Many Loves of Dobie Gillis - 3a ET | 12a PT

Aspiring to attain popularity, wealth and the attention of beautiful, money-hungry blondes, luckless teenager Dobie Gillis (Dwayne Hickman) will not be discouraged as he works toward that which he desires. Along with beatnik buddy Maynard G. Krebs (Bob Denver), Dobie carries out his bound-to-fail schemes while trying to get the better of the rich kids and make his parents happy.

10

The Abbott and Costello Show - 3:30a ET | 12:30a PT

Bringing their trademark slapstick, puns and gimmicks to the small screen, 'The Abbott and Costello Show' features Bud Abbott and Lou Costello as out-of-work actors and roommates staying at Mr. Field's Hollywood boarding house. Joined by an off-the-wall supporting cast, such as dimwitted policeman Mike Kelly (Gordon Jones) and bratty child Stinky (Joe Besser), Abbott and Costello encapsulate their classic burlesque routines in a loosely plotted television format.

11

Our Miss Brooks - 4a ET | 1a PT

Having made the move from radio to television in 1952, ‘Our Miss Brooks’ was one of the medium’s first hits. English teacher Connie Brooks (Eve Arden) finds no shortage of comic misadventure at Madison High School, whether it’s foiling another one of crooked Principal Conklin’s (Gale Gordon) schemes or dealing with a romantic misunderstanding with beau Mr. Boynton (Robert Rockwell).

Contact | About | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise | Distribution | Do Not Sell My Information - CA Residents