Back to Articles

Watch historic Presidential Inauguration speeches on Decades this January 20

Decades presents Inauguration Day Through the Decades, a historic and unique programming event airing on Wednesday, January 20, at 5a ET | 2a PT through 2p ET | 11a PT. This special eight-hour programming event begins with President Harry S. Truman in 1945 and continues with each successive President in sequence. 

Tapping the resources of the CBS News Archives, Decades will mark Inauguration Day by featuring the televised speeches of each President of the modern era. See the speeches from Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Carter, Reagan, Bush, Clinton, Bush, Obama, and Trump, just as they happened on Inauguration Day during their time. 

Here is the event schedule in Eastern time:

5a ET - Presidents Harry S. Truman, 1945; Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1953; and John F. Kennedy, 1961.

6a ET - Presidents Lyndon B. Johnson, 1965; Richard Nixon, 1969.

7a ET - Presidents Richard Nixon, 1973; Jimmy Carter, 1977.

8a ET - President Ronald Reagan, 1981 & 1985.

9a ET - Presidents George H.W. Bush, 1989; Bill Clinton, 1993.        

10a ET - Presidents Bill Clinton, 1997; George W. Bush, 2001.

11a ET - Presidents George W. Bush, 2005; Barack Obama, 2009.

12p ET - President Barack Obama, 2013.

1p ET - President Donald Trump, 2017.

Visit the Decades Schedule for more info.

Contact | About | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise | Distribution | Do Not Sell My Information - CA Residents