Back to Articles

Decades Remembers Carl Reiner with a three-day tribute starting July 10

Decades is remembering the amazing career and life of the late Carl Reiner with a weekend-long marathon of interviews, shows and performances from the great comedian himself. 

All weekend long, we'll be celebrating the creator-comedian with selected episodes of his pioneering sitcom The Dick Van Dyke Show, which was based on and inspired by his real-life as a working comedy writer. 

The three-day celebration begins Friday, July 10th at 9p ET | 6p PT, with a special episode of The Dick Cavett Show featuring an interview from Carl Reiner himself.

Immediately following that, at 9:30p ET | 6:30p PT, we present "Head of the Family" — what would become the pilot episode of The Dick Van Dyke Show. Only, this 1960 episode starred Carl Reiner in the lead role, not Dick Van Dyke.

After Dick Van Dyke and Mary Tyler Moore came aboard, the sitcom took on a new life. Reiner largely remained in the background, appearing occasionally as Rob Petrie's boss, the fictional TV host Alan Brady. 

Friday's tribute concludes with two of the funniest episodes of The Dick Van Dyke Show with Carl Reiner as Alan Brady — "Coast to Coast Big Mouth" (10p ET | 7p PT) and "A Day in the Life of Alan Brady" (10:30p ET | 7:30p PT).

Decades Remembers Carl Reiner continues on Saturday and Sunday with The Dick Van Dyke Show as the Weekend Binge, starting at 12p ET | 9a PT on Saturday.

Check out our schedule page for more info an descriptions of the marathon episodes. 


Watch The Dick Van Dyke Show on Decades

Weeknights at 10p ET | 7p PT

Contact | About | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise | Distribution | Do Not Sell My Information - CA Residents